Greatness does not consist in being great, but in the ability to make others great’’ -Rev Chris Okotie

This has been the guiding philosophy of Rev Chris Okotie, Founder and Pastor of the Household of God International Ministries. It has also laid the foundation for the now popular annual GRACE Programme.

GRACE started in 1990 as Rev Okotie’s vision to give back to society by reaching out to the less privileged who are made to benefit from the compassion of Jesus Christ. During the event, four charitable organizations have traditionally been given cash award of which the amount has gradually increased over the years to 1 million as at present. These organizations – Sunshine Foundation, Strong Tower Mission, Pacelli School For The Blind and Partially Sighted and Spinal Cord Injuries Association, have every year received cash donations from the Household of God Church during the annual Grace Programme.

Thus for 27 years, the Household of God has championed the cause of the underprivileged who look forward to the love feast every year.

In 1996, the Reverend conceived the KARIS Award as recognition of unsung Nigerian heroes / heroines who, due to some errors of omission were not duly appreciated by the government in their generation. It is significant to note that some KARIS awardees became appreciated by their indigent government only after they received the KARIS award.

One of the appeals of KARIS is its non-political and non- religious bias. Past beneficiaries span the length and breadth of Nigeria, encompassing a diversity of vocations. Their common denominator is that they were truly distinguished and patriotic Nigerians.

KARIS Award is subsumed in the GRACE event.


Prof. Chike Obi - 1996
D.I.G Chris Omoeben - 1997
Mr. Taiwo Akinkunmi - 1998
Hogan Kid Bassey - 1999
Chief Michael Imodu - 2000
Chief Mrs. Margaret Ekpo - 2001
Hajia Sawaba (posthumous) - 2002
Mallam Aminu Kano (posthumous) - 2003
Dr. Tai Solarin (posthumous) - 2004
Isaac Jasper Adaka Boro (posthumous) - 2005
Major Gen. Murtala Mohammed (posthumous) - 2006
Sir Akanu Ibiam (posthumous) - 2007
Chief Thomas Ajayie Osigbemhe JP (posthumous) - 2008
HRM Oba Sunday Olufunso Adeolu - 2009
Chief Gani Fawehinmi, SAN (posthumous) - 2010
Mr. Emmanuel Okala, MON - 2011
Rev. Prof. Ishaya Shu'aibu Audu, CFR (posthumous) - 2012
Air Commodore Habiba Ruth Garba (rtd.) - 2013
Mrs. Beatrice Ibeneme (nee Okebugwu) (posthumous) - 2014
Dr. Ameyo Adadevoh (posthumous) - 2015
Mrs. Efunjoke Coker (MA, MFR) - 2016
Capt. Bob Hayes - 2017